Boston Angel

Boston 4/15/13

Boston Angel

I was a legal alien (to quote Mr. Sumner) for 25 years. I’ve been a citizen for a further 15 years.

I love this country as my home, my childrens’ and grandchildrens’ home, the place where I’ve spent the larger portion of my adult life. I was stunned by 9/11, I was stunned by Lockerbie, I’m stunned by the events in Boston today.

I’m always mainly stunned by the fact that so many international factions harbor such hatred for a country and a population that has always seemed to me the most welcoming and kind of nations. To me, it was the place I always wanted to be, and the realization of that ambition was one of the most significant events of my life.

I don’t agree with some of the political currents; I find some of the social problems and ethical divisions to be difficult for a European liberal to grapple with, but, at the nitty-gritty, it’s still everything that the Great Experiment continues to work towards.

Still an imperfect union in many ways, but so much better than most pluralistic societies, especially the old residues of Empire, where the chickens have come home to roost in often predictable but alarming ways.

Is it envy? Is it age-old religious divisions? Is it just the human race showing once again that we don’t really deserve to be here in what Louis Armstrong rightly labeled “ What A Wonderful World”?

No answers here, I’m afraid, but we’re dealing with yet another national wound, and I had to say something.

One thought on “Boston 4/15/13

  1. Michael, I relate to your post in many ways, although I’m USA born & bred. I find myself cynical in many ways–not pessimistic, but often not expecting much from my fellow humans. Paradoxically, I also want to believe in the best of human-kind, like Anne Frank, that “Despite everything, I believe that people are really good at heart.” I found a statement today from an unexpected source, an actor best known for his comedic roles. I found actual comfort in what he wrote, and I believe it to be true. Coincidentally, Celeste & I shared his same statement on a social network within seconds of each other. It is as follows:

    “Boston. Fucking horrible.

    I remember, when 9/11 went down, my reaction was, “Well, I’ve had it with humanity.”

    But I was wrong. I don’t know what’s going to be revealed to be behind all of this mayhem. One human insect or a poisonous mass of broken sociopaths.

    But here’s what I DO know. If it’s one person or a HUNDRED people, that number is not even a fraction of a fraction of a fraction of a percent of the population on this planet. You watch the videos of the carnage and there are people running TOWARDS the destruction to help out. (Thanks FAKE Gallery founder and owner Paul Kozlowski for pointing this out to me). This is a giant planet and we’re lucky to live on it but there are prices and penalties incurred for the daily miracle of existence. One of them is, every once in awhile, the wiring of a tiny sliver of the species gets snarled and they’re pointed towards darkness.

    But the vast majority stands against that darkness and, like white blood cells attacking a virus, they dilute and weaken and eventually wash away the evil doers and, more importantly, the damage they wreak. This is beyond religion or creed or nation. We would not be here if humanity were inherently evil. We’d have eaten ourselves alive long ago.

    So when you spot violence, or bigotry, or intolerance or fear or just garden-variety misogyny, hatred or ignorance, just look it in the eye and think, “The good outnumber you, and we always will.”

    Patton Oswalt”

    Peace, Michael. For all of us.
    S~xo

Leave a Reply

